Sleepless in Colorado

It’s nearing 3 a.m. and I’m awake, wide awake in fact. While I’m on my third 16 oz cup of tea, I’m pretty sure that’s not the issue considering I’ve been drinking three or more 12 oz cups of coffee every Thursday and still manage to pass out within an hour of finishing off the last one.

The real buzz that is keeping me going is knowing that I finished. And I finished before midnight rolled around. With seven minutes to spare and an extra six words. I’m cruising on a high of 50,006 words written in 14 days with over ten percent of it all happening in the last 24 hours.

On my reread through the novel I got to page 33 (all single-spaced with no page breaks) before I finally had added in enough extra words. Almost 2000 of which came from a nightmare sequence that I realized would be a perfect fit! Because really, every werewolf novel should have a touch of horror in it! I can’t wait to go through the rest of the novel, next month, and add more words to the story. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll even do some more work on it this month if my next project goes well and finishes early.

To top it all off, I’m super pleased with everything I’ve gone through so far on the reread. Which is definitely more than 33 pages, since I’ve hit at least a dozen of the later pages on my random page edits. I know its far from perfect now, but I’ve got a lot to work with and its something that I’m super excited to edit and send off to an agent sometime in the next year (but don’t hold me to that, who knows how much time I’ll want to spend slaving over it, perfecting it *coughimpossiblecough*). All joking aside, though, I really do hope that I can get this novel out in the hands of agents in the next year.

I’m just bursting with excitement! It’s days like these that remind me of why I write, even when I feel like I’m floundering in a sea of words and ideas, or when my brain suddenly decides to take a vacation. The feeling of having finished a stage in a project is the best thing in the world.

Categories: NaNoWriMo | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

