NaNo Day 26

I’m supposed to be doing a #50kweekend (check this twitter hashtag to keep up with others doing it too), but as each day and hour passes, I’m falling farther and farther behind on that goal. I knew doing it in three days would be hard, considering that I haven’t passed 8k in one day, and doing 50k in three days means doing more than double my highest word count each day.

Ultimately, the best I can really hope for is to hit 100k by the end of the month, being still behind on that goal too. I’d still like to achieve that 50k weekend, but I’m going to need a serious amount of inspiration, being that I don’t have any sort of outline to help push me forward.

In fact, I keep trying different story ideas as I try and find something that can capture my interest. They are all things I’d like to write someday, but this isn’t the month. The almost 80k I’ve written so far this month is taking its toll on my creative side, being that I’m actually writing for quality rather than quantity this year.

Until I start learning to actually outline and plot large portions of a story to begin with, I don’t think I’ll ever be much of a speed writer; though I did manage to write the first 50k pretty quickly. However, I’ve never really been much of an outliner, not even on school projects.

The whole process is really making me think about what I could or couldn’t do month after month, and I think writing about 50k each month is on target for what I could do consistently. Not counting what editing I end up doing outside of writing new material. I guess as December rolls around I’ll get a better idea of what I can do.

Categories: NaNoWriMo | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

