Script Frenzy

April is fast approaching and last year at this time I told myself that I would definitely make an effort to learn more about scriptwriting and try and participate in 2011 in this offshoot of NaNoWriMo. While I am still unsure if I’ll actually participate when April finally rolls around, I am taking the steps towards learning more about the practice and art of scriptwriting.

Aside from articles on the Script Frenzy site, I’ve picked up two books at my local library and I attended a scriptwriting seminar this past Tuesday. Whether I’ll get through all the material before April starts is yet to be seen. And whether I’ll have time between packing, moving and working to write and with just a week till the start, I’m on the fence about how serious of an attempt I’ll actually make at trying to write 100 pages. That aside, I am excited about what I will be working on during the month, which will basically be a rewrite of my werewolf novel from November, but in a script format of course!

But I am still hopeful that sometime with in the next few years that I will make an attempt at scriptwriting just for the experience of something different.

I think as a writer it is important and beneficial to explore different types of writing, whether it be different genres, poetry or even scriptwriting. And it is for that reason that I have been making efforts at expanding my repertoire of writing skills. Even if I don’t become very accomplished or experienced in other areas of writing, laying down the foundations now, might prove useful later in life and in my writing career.

Are any of you planning on participating in Script Frenzy?

Categories: NaNoWriMo, Writing | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

